Fall 2010 Weather History in Longyearbyen Svalbard & Jan Mayen

The data for this report comes from the Svalbard Airport, Longyear. See all nearby weather stations

This report shows the past weather for Longyearbyen, providing a weather history for the fall of 2010. It features all historical weather data series we have available, including the Longyearbyen temperature history for the fall of 2010. You can drill down from year to month and even day level reports by clicking on the graphs.

Longyearbyen Temperature History in the Fall of 2010

Temperature history in the Fall of 2010 in LongyearbyenSepOctNov-20°F-20°F-10°F-10°F0°F0°F10°F10°F20°F20°F30°F30°F40°F40°F50°F50°F60°F60°FSummerWinter
The daily range of reported temperatures (gray bars) and 24-hour highs (red ticks) and lows (blue ticks), placed over the daily average high (faint red line) and low (faint blue line) temperature, with 25th to 75th and 10th to 90th percentile bands.

Hourly Temperature in the Fall of 2010 in Longyearbyen

Hourly Temperature in the Fall of 2010 in LongyearbyenSepOctNov12 AM12 AM3 AM3 AM6 AM6 AM9 AM9 AM12 PM12 PM3 PM3 PM6 PM6 PM9 PM9 PM12 AM12 AMSummerWinterfrigidfreezingvery cold
frigid 15°F freezing 32°F very cold 45°F cold 55°F cool 65°F comfortable 75°F warm 85°F hot 95°F sweltering
The hourly reported temperature, color coded into bands. The shaded overlays indicate night and civil twilight.
Map
Marker
© OpenStreetMap contributors

Compare Longyearbyen to another city:

Map

Cloud Cover in the Fall of 2010 in Longyearbyen

Cloud Cover in the Fall of 2010 in LongyearbyenSepOctNov12 AM12 AM3 AM3 AM6 AM6 AM9 AM9 AM12 PM12 PM3 PM3 PM6 PM6 PM9 PM9 PM12 AM12 AMSummerWinter
0% clear 20% mostly clear 40% partly cloudy 60% mostly cloudy 80% overcast 100%
no significant cloudno cloud detectedceiling and visibility ok
The hourly reported cloud coverage, categorized by the percentage of the sky covered by clouds.

Snow Depth in the Fall of 2010 in Longyearbyen

Snow Depth in the Fall of 2010 in LongyearbyenSepOctNov0 in0 in2 in2 in4 in4 in6 in6 in8 in8 inSummerWinter
The daily measured snow depth, where available.

Observed Weather in the Fall of 2010 in Longyearbyen

Observed Weather in the Fall of 2010 in LongyearbyenSepOctNov12 AM12 AM3 AM3 AM6 AM6 AM9 AM9 AM12 PM12 PM3 PM3 PM6 PM6 PM9 PM9 PM12 AM12 AMSummerWinter
foghazedrizzlelight rainmoderate rainheavy rainfreezing rainsleetsnow grainslight snowmoderate snowheavy snowhailthunderstorm
The hourly observed weather, color coded by category (in order of severity). If multiple reports are present, the most severe code is shown.
DayObservationsPrecipitationCodes
Wed, Sep 1 Light Intermittent Rain, Light RainIWC60, IWC61
Thu, Sep 2 Light Intermittent Rain, Light RainIWC60, IWC61
Fri, Sep 3 Light Rain and Snow, Rain, Light Drizzle and Rain, Light Rain, Drizzle, Light Drizzle, Precipitation in the VicinityIWC68, IWC63, IWC58, IWC61, IWC53, IWC51, IWC16, IWC15
Sat, Sep 4 Light Snow, Light Intermittent Rain, Light RainIWC71, IWC60, IWC61
Sun, Sep 5 Rain, Light Intermittent Rain, Light Rain, Precipitation in the VicinityIWC63, IWC60, IWC61, IWC16, IWC15
Mon, Sep 6 Light Rain, Drizzle, Light Drizzle, Fog, Increasing Fog, Mist, Patches of FogIWC61, IWC53, IWC51, IWC44, IWC46, IWC10, IWC41
Tue, Sep 7 Light Intermittent Snow, Light Snow, Light RainIWC70, IWC71, IWC61
Wed, Sep 8 Light Snow, Precipitation in the VicinityIWC71, IWC16, IWC15
Thu, Sep 9 Light Intermittent Snow, Light Snow, Light Rain and Snow, Light RainIWC70, IWC71, IWC68, IWC61
Fri, Sep 10 Light RainIWC61
Sat, Sep 11 Distant Fog, Freezing Fog, Patches of Fog, Sky-Obscuring Fog, Sky-Obscuring Freezing Fog, Sky-Obscuring Increasing FogIWC40, IWC48, IWC41, IWC45, IWC49, IWC47
Sun, Sep 12 Distant Fog, Patches of FogIWC40, IWC41
Tue, Sep 14 Light Intermittent Rain, Light RainIWC60, IWC61
Wed, Sep 15 Snow, Light Intermittent Snow, Light Snow, Precipitation in the VicinityIWC22, IWC70, IWC71, IWC16
Thu, Sep 16 Light Snow, Precipitation in the VicinityIWC71, IWC16, IWC15
Fri, Sep 17 Light Drizzle and Rain, Light Intermittent Rain, Light Rain, Light DrizzleIWC58, IWC60, IWC61, IWC51
Mon, Sep 20 Light Intermittent Snow, Light Snow, Precipitation in the VicinityIWC70, IWC71, IWC16
Tue, Sep 21 Light Intermittent Snow, Light Snow, Light Intermittent Rain, Light RainIWC70, IWC71, IWC60, IWC61
Wed, Sep 22 Light Intermittent Snow, Light Intermittent Rain, Light RainIWC70, IWC60, IWC61
Thu, Sep 23 Light Intermittent Rain, Light RainIWC60, IWC61
Sun, Sep 26 Light Intermittent Snow, Light SnowIWC70, IWC71
Mon, Sep 27 Light Snow, Light RainIWC71, IWC61
Tue, Sep 28 Light Snow, Patches of FogIWC71, IWC41
Wed, Sep 29 Light Snow, Showers of Light Snow, Rain, Light Rain, Light Drizzle, Light Intermittent Drizzle, Precipitation in the VicinityIWC71, IWC85, IWC63, IWC61, IWC51, IWC50, IWC16
Thu, Sep 30 Light RainIWC61
Fri, Oct 1 Rain, Light Intermittent Rain, Light Rain, Light Drizzle, MistIWC63, IWC60, IWC61, IWC51, IWC10
Sat, Oct 2 Rain, Light Intermittent Rain, Light Rain, Light Drizzle, Precipitation in the VicinityIWC21, IWC60, IWC61, IWC51, IWC16, IWC15
Sun, Oct 3 Light Rain, Light Drizzle, Precipitation in the VicinityIWC61, IWC51, IWC16, IWC15
Mon, Oct 4 Light RainIWC61
Tue, Oct 5 Light Rain, Light Drizzle, Precipitation in the VicinityIWC61, IWC51, IWC16
Wed, Oct 6 Light Snow, Light Intermittent Rain, Light Rain, Precipitation in the VicinityIWC71, IWC60, IWC61, IWC16, IWC15
Thu, Oct 7 Light Intermittent Rain, Light Rain, Distant FogIWC60, IWC61, IWC40
Fri, Oct 8 Light Drizzle and Rain, Light Intermittent Rain, Light Rain, Light DrizzleIWC58, IWC60, IWC61, IWC51
Sat, Oct 9 Light Rain, Light Drizzle, Haze, Mist, Patches of Fog, Sky-Obscuring FogIWC61, IWC51, IWC05, IWC10, IWC41, IWC45
Sun, Oct 10 Light Intermittent Snow, Light Snow, Light Intermittent Rain, Light Rain, Precipitation in the VicinityIWC70, IWC71, IWC60, IWC61, IWC16
Mon, Oct 11 Light Intermittent Snow, Light Snow, High Drifting SnowIWC70, IWC71, IWC38
Fri, Oct 15 Light Intermittent Snow, Light SnowIWC70, IWC71
Sat, Oct 16 Snow, Light Intermittent Snow, Light Snow, Precipitation in the VicinityIWC22, IWC70, IWC71, IWC16
Sun, Oct 17 Light Intermittent Snow, Light SnowIWC70, IWC71
Mon, Oct 18 Snow, Light Intermittent Snow, Light Snow, Precipitation in the VicinityIWC22, IWC70, IWC71, IWC16, IWC15
Tue, Oct 19 Snow, Light Snow, Low Drifting SnowIWC73, IWC22, IWC71, IWC36
Wed, Oct 20 Light Intermittent Snow, Light Snow, Precipitation in the Vicinity, High Drifting Snow, Low Drifting SnowIWC70, IWC71, IWC16, IWC15, IWC38, IWC36
Thu, Oct 21 Light Intermittent Snow, Light SnowIWC70, IWC71
Fri, Oct 22 Light Intermittent Snow, Light Snow, Low Drifting SnowIWC70, IWC71, IWC36
Sat, Oct 23 Light Snow, Precipitation in the Vicinity, Low Drifting SnowIWC71, IWC16, IWC36
Mon, Oct 25 Light Intermittent Snow, Light SnowIWC70, IWC71
Tue, Oct 26 Precipitation in the VicinityIWC16, IWC15
Wed, Oct 27 Light Intermittent Snow, Light Snow, Precipitation in the VicinityIWC70, IWC71, IWC16
Fri, Oct 29 Light Intermittent Snow, Light SnowIWC70, IWC71
Sun, Oct 31 Light SnowIWC71
Mon, Nov 1 Low Drifting SnowIWC36
Tue, Nov 2 Light Intermittent Snow, Light Snow, Precipitation in the VicinityIWC70, IWC71, IWC16, IWC15
Wed, Nov 3 Light Intermittent Snow, Light SnowIWC70, IWC71
Thu, Nov 4 Light SnowIWC71
Fri, Nov 5 Light Snow, Showers of Light SnowIWC71, IWC85
Sat, Nov 6 Light Intermittent Snow, Light SnowIWC70, IWC71
Sun, Nov 7 Light Intermittent Snow, Light SnowIWC70, IWC71
Mon, Nov 8 Light Intermittent Snow, Light Snow, Precipitation in the VicinityIWC70, IWC71, IWC15
Tue, Nov 9 Light Intermittent Snow, Light SnowIWC70, IWC71
Thu, Nov 11 Intermittent Snow, Snow, Light SnowIWC72, IWC73, IWC71
Fri, Nov 12 Light Intermittent Snow, Light Snow, Precipitation in the VicinityIWC70, IWC71, IWC16
Sat, Nov 13 Light Intermittent Snow, Light Snow, Low Drifting SnowIWC70, IWC71, IWC36
Sun, Nov 14 Light Intermittent Snow, Light SnowIWC70, IWC71
Mon, Nov 15 Light Intermittent Snow, Light SnowIWC70, IWC71
Tue, Nov 16 Light Intermittent Snow, Light Snow, Low Drifting SnowIWC70, IWC71, IWC36
Wed, Nov 17 Light Intermittent Snow, Light SnowIWC70, IWC71
Thu, Nov 18 Light Intermittent Snow, Light SnowIWC70, IWC71
Fri, Nov 19 Light Intermittent Snow, Light Snow, Showers of Light SnowIWC70, IWC71, IWC85
Sat, Nov 20 Light Intermittent Snow, Light SnowIWC70, IWC71
Sun, Nov 21 Light Intermittent Snow, Light Snow, High Drifting Snow, Low Drifting SnowIWC70, IWC71, IWC38, IWC36
Mon, Nov 22 Light Intermittent Snow, Light Snow, Distant FogIWC70, IWC71, IWC40
Tue, Nov 23 Light Intermittent Snow, Light SnowIWC70, IWC71
Wed, Nov 24 Low Drifting SnowIWC36
Sat, Nov 27 Light Intermittent Snow, Light SnowIWC70, IWC71
Sun, Nov 28 Snow, Light Intermittent Snow, Light SnowIWC73, IWC70, IWC71
Mon, Nov 29 Snow, Light Intermittent Snow, Light Snow, Light Rain and Snow, Light Freezing DrizzleIWC22, IWC70, IWC71, IWC68, IWC56
Tue, Nov 30 Light Intermittent Snow, Light Snow, Freezing Drizzle, Light Freezing Drizzle, Patches of Fog, Sky-Obscuring FogIWC70, IWC71, IWC57, IWC56, IWC41, IWC45

Hours of Daylight and Twilight in the Fall of 2010 in Longyearbyen

Hours of Daylight and Twilight in the Fall of 2010 in LongyearbyenSepOctNov0 hr24 hr4 hr20 hr8 hr16 hr12 hr12 hr16 hr8 hr20 hr4 hr24 hr0 hrSummerWinterSep 2312 hr, 43 minSep 2312 hr, 43 minSep 118 hr, 40 minSep 118 hr, 40 minNov 300 minNov 300 min
The number of hours during which the Sun is visible (black line). From bottom (most yellow) to top (most gray), the color bands indicate: full daylight, twilight (civil, nautical, and astronomical), and full night.

Sunrise & Sunset with Twilight and Daylight Saving Time in the Fall of 2010 in Longyearbyen

Sunrise & Sunset with Twilight and Daylight Saving Time in the Fall of 2010 in LongyearbyenSepOctNov12 AM12 AM2 AM2 AM4 AM4 AM6 AM6 AM8 AM8 AM10 AM10 AM12 PM12 PM2 PM2 PM4 PM4 PM6 PM6 PM8 PM8 PM10 PM10 PM12 AM12 AMSummerWinter12:06 PM12:06 PM3:33 AM3:33 AM10:12 PMSep 110:12 PMSep 16:19 AM6:19 AM7:17 PMSep 217:17 PMSep 21
The solar day over the course of the Fall of 2010. From bottom to top, the black lines are the previous solar midnight, sunrise, solar noon, sunset, and the next solar midnight. The day, twilights (civil, nautical, and astronomical), and night are indicated by the color bands from yellow to gray. The transitions to and from daylight saving time are indicated by the 'DST' labels.

Solar Elevation and Azimuth in the Fall of 2010 in Longyearbyen

Solar Elevation and Azimuth in the Fall of 2010 in LongyearbyenSepOctNov12 AM12 AM2 AM2 AM4 AM4 AM6 AM6 AM8 AM8 AM10 AM10 AM12 PM12 PM2 PM2 PM4 PM4 PM6 PM6 PM8 PM8 PM10 PM10 PM12 AM12 AMSummerWinter010
northeastsouthwest
Solar elevation and azimuth in the the fall of 2010. The black lines are lines of constant solar elevation (the angle of the sun above the horizon, in degrees). The background color fills indicate the azimuth (the compass bearing) of the sun. The lightly tinted areas at the boundaries of the cardinal compass points indicate the implied intermediate directions (northeast, southeast, southwest, and northwest).

Moon Rise, Set & Phases in the Fall of 2010 in Longyearbyen

Moon Rise, Set & Phases in the Fall of 2010 in LongyearbyenSepOctNov12 AM12 AM4 AM4 AM8 AM8 AM12 PM12 PM4 PM4 PM8 PM8 PM12 AM12 AMSummerWinterAug 105:09 AMAug 105:09 AMAug 247:05 PMAug 247:05 PMSep 812:30 PMSep 812:30 PMSep 2311:18 AMSep 2311:18 AMOct 78:45 PMOct 78:45 PMOct 233:37 AMOct 233:37 AMNov 216:28 PMNov 216:28 PMDec 219:14 AMDec 219:14 AM10:39 PM10:39 PM5:27 AM5:27 AM6:55 PM6:55 PM5:52 PM5:52 PM7:53 AM7:53 AM8:43 AM8:43 AM3:10 PM3:10 PM12:00 AM12:00 AM12:00 AM12:00 AM12:00 AM12:00 AM12:00 AM12:00 AM12:00 AM12:00 AM12:00 AM12:00 AM
The time in which the moon is above the horizon (light blue area), with new moons (dark gray lines) and full moons (blue lines) indicated. The shaded overlays indicate night and civil twilight.

Humidity Comfort Levels in the Fall of 2010 in Longyearbyen

Humidity Comfort Levels in the Fall of 2010 in LongyearbyenSepOctNov12 AM12 AM3 AM3 AM6 AM6 AM9 AM9 AM12 PM12 PM3 PM3 PM6 PM6 PM9 PM9 PM12 AM12 AMSummerWinter
dry 55°F comfortable 60°F humid 65°F muggy 70°F oppressive 75°F miserable
The hourly reported humidity comfort level, categorized by dew point. The shaded overlays indicate night and civil twilight.

Wind Speed in the Fall of 2010 in Longyearbyen

Wind Speed in the Fall of 2010 in LongyearbyenSepOctNov0 mph0 mph10 mph10 mph20 mph20 mph30 mph30 mph40 mph40 mph50 mph50 mph60 mph60 mph70 mph70 mphSummerWinter
The daily range of reported wind speeds (gray bars), with maximum gust speeds (red ticks).

Hourly Wind Speed in the Fall of 2010 in Longyearbyen

Hourly Wind Speed in the Fall of 2010 in LongyearbyenSepOctNov12 AM12 AM3 AM3 AM6 AM6 AM9 AM9 AM12 PM12 PM3 PM3 PM6 PM6 PM9 PM9 PM12 AM12 AMSummerWinter
0 mph calm 1 mph light air 4 mph light breeze 8 mph gentle breeze 13 mph moderate breeze 18 mph fresh breeze 25 mph strong breeze 31 mph near gale 39 mph gale 47 mph strong gale 55 mph storm 64 mph violent storm 73 mph hurricane force
The hourly reported wind speed, color coded into bands according to the Beaufort scale. The shaded overlays indicate night and civil twilight.

Hourly Wind Direction in 2010 in Longyearbyen

Hourly Wind Direction in 2010 in LongyearbyenSepOctNov12 AM12 AM3 AM3 AM6 AM6 AM9 AM9 AM12 PM12 PM3 PM3 PM6 PM6 PM9 PM9 PM12 AM12 AMSummerWinter
calmnortheastsouthwest
The hourly reported wind direction, color coded by compass point. The shaded overlays indicate night and civil twilight.

Atmospheric Pressure in the Fall of 2010 in Longyearbyen

Atmospheric Pressure in the Fall of 2010 in LongyearbyenSepOctNov29.0 inHg29.0 inHg29.5 inHg29.5 inHg30.0 inHg30.0 inHg30.5 inHg30.5 inHg31.0 inHg31.0 inHgSummerWinter
The daily range of atmospheric pressure (gray bars), as measured by the altimeter setting reported in e.g. a METAR report.

The details of the data sources used for this report can be found on the Svalbard Airport, Longyear page.

See all nearby weather stations

Disclaimer

The information on this site is provided as is, without any assurances as to its accuracy or suitability for any purpose. Weather data is prone to errors, outages, and other defects. We assume no responsibility for any decisions made on the basis of the content presented on this site.

We draw particular cautious attention to our reliance on the MERRA-2 model-based reconstructions for a number of important data series. While having the tremendous advantages of temporal and spatial completeness, these reconstructions: (1) are based on computer models that may have model-based errors, (2) are coarsely sampled on a 50 km grid and are therefore unable to reconstruct the local variations of many microclimates, and (3) have particular difficulty with the weather in some coastal areas, especially small islands.

We further caution that our travel scores are only as good as the data that underpin them, that weather conditions at any given location and time are unpredictable and variable, and that the definition of the scores reflects a particular set of preferences that may not agree with those of any particular reader.

Please review our full terms contained on our Terms of Service page.