Winter 2023 Weather History in London United Kingdom

The data for this report comes from the London Heathrow Airport. See all nearby weather stations

This report shows the past weather for London, providing a weather history for the winter of 2023. It features all historical weather data series we have available, including the London temperature history for the winter of 2023. You can drill down from year to month and even day level reports by clicking on the graphs.

London Temperature History in the Winter of 2023

Temperature history in the Winter of 2023 in LondonDecJanFeb20°F20°F25°F25°F30°F30°F35°F35°F40°F40°F45°F45°F50°F50°F55°F55°F60°F60°F65°F65°FFallSpring
The daily range of reported temperatures (gray bars) and 24-hour highs (red ticks) and lows (blue ticks), placed over the daily average high (faint red line) and low (faint blue line) temperature, with 25th to 75th and 10th to 90th percentile bands.

Hourly Temperature in the Winter of 2023 in London

Hourly Temperature in the Winter of 2023 in LondonDecJanFeb12 AM12 AM3 AM3 AM6 AM6 AM9 AM9 AM12 PM12 PM3 PM3 PM6 PM6 PM9 PM9 PM12 AM12 AMFallSpringvery coldcold
frigid 15°F freezing 32°F very cold 45°F cold 55°F cool 65°F comfortable 75°F warm 85°F hot 95°F sweltering
The hourly reported temperature, color coded into bands. The shaded overlays indicate night and civil twilight.
Map
Marker
© OpenStreetMap contributors

Compare London to another city:

Map

Cloud Cover in the Winter of 2023 in London

Cloud Cover in the Winter of 2023 in LondonDecJanFeb12 AM12 AM3 AM3 AM6 AM6 AM9 AM9 AM12 PM12 PM3 PM3 PM6 PM6 PM9 PM9 PM12 AM12 AMFallSpring
0% clear 20% mostly clear 40% partly cloudy 60% mostly cloudy 80% overcast 100%
no significant cloudno cloud detectedceiling and visibility ok
The hourly reported cloud coverage, categorized by the percentage of the sky covered by clouds.

Observed Weather in the Winter of 2023 in London

Observed Weather in the Winter of 2023 in LondonDecJanFeb12 AM12 AM3 AM3 AM6 AM6 AM9 AM9 AM12 PM12 PM3 PM3 PM6 PM6 PM9 PM9 PM12 AM12 AMFallSpring
foghazedrizzlelight rainmoderate rainheavy rainfreezing rainsleetsnow grainslight snowmoderate snowheavy snowhailthunderstorm
The hourly observed weather, color coded by category (in order of severity). If multiple reports are present, the most severe code is shown.
DayObservationsPrecipitationCodes
Sat, Dec 2 Haze, Freezing Fog, MistHZ, FZFG, BR
Sun, Dec 3 Rain, Light RainRA, -RA
Mon, Dec 4 Rain and Drizzle, Recent Rain, Light Rain, Light Rain and Drizzle, Recent DrizzleRADZ, RERA, -RA, -RADZ, REDZ
Tue, Dec 5 Light Rain-RA
Wed, Dec 6 Light Rain, Haze, Mist-RA, HZ, BR
Thu, Dec 7 Rain, Light RainRA, -RA
Sat, Dec 9 Heavy Rain, Rain, Recent Rain, Light Rain+RA, RA, RERA, -RA
Sun, Dec 10 Recent Rain, Light Rain, Recent DrizzleRERA, -RA, REDZ
Mon, Dec 11 Light Rain-RA
Tue, Dec 12 Rain, Recent Rain, Recent Showers of Rain, Light RainRA, RERA, RESHRA, -RA
Wed, Dec 13 Light Rain, Light Rain and Drizzle, Light Drizzle-RA, -RADZ, -DZ
Thu, Dec 14 Rain and Drizzle, Recent Rain, Light Rain, Light Rain and Drizzle, Recent DrizzleRADZ, RERA, -RA, -RADZ, REDZ
Fri, Dec 15 Light Rain-RA
Tue, Dec 19 Heavy Rain, Rain, Rain and Drizzle, Recent Rain, Light Rain, Light Rain and Drizzle, Recent Drizzle+RA, RA, RADZ, RERA, -RA, -RADZ, REDZ
Thu, Dec 21 Light Rain-RA
Fri, Dec 22 Light Rain-RA
Sat, Dec 23 Light Rain-RA
Sun, Dec 24 Light Rain-RA
Mon, Dec 25 Rain and Drizzle, Recent Rain, Light Rain, Recent DrizzleRADZ, RERA, -RA, REDZ
Wed, Dec 27 Recent Rain, Light Rain, Recent DrizzleRERA, -RA, REDZ
Thu, Dec 28 Heavy Rain, Showers of Heavy Rain, Recent Rain, Recent Showers of Rain, Showers of Rain, Light Rain, Showers of Light Rain+RA, +SHRA, RERA, RESHRA, SHRA, -RA, -SHRA
Fri, Dec 29 Light Rain-RA
Sat, Dec 30 Rain, Recent Rain, Light Rain, Recent DrizzleRA, RERA, -RA, REDZ
Sun, Dec 31 Heavy Rain, Recent Rain, Light Rain+RA, RERA, -RA
Mon, Jan 1 Light Rain-RA
Tue, Jan 2 Rain, Recent Rain, Light Rain, Light Rain and Drizzle, Recent DrizzleRA, RERA, -RA, -RADZ, REDZ
Wed, Jan 3 Recent Rain, Light RainRERA, -RA
Thu, Jan 4 Recent Showers of Hail, Rain, Recent Rain, Light Rain, Light Rain and DrizzleRESHGR, RA, RERA, -RA, -RADZ
Fri, Jan 5 Recent Rain, Light Rain, Light Drizzle, Recent DrizzleRERA, -RA, -DZ, REDZ
Sat, Jan 6 Light Rain-RA
Mon, Jan 8 Light Snow, Showers of Light Snow, Light Rain and Snow, Showers of Light Rain and Snow, Light Rain-SN, -SHSN, -RASN, -SHRASN, -RA
Thu, Jan 11 Light Rain-RA
Sun, Jan 14 Light Rain-RA
Thu, Jan 18 Recent RainRERA
Sun, Jan 21 Rain and Drizzle, Recent Rain, Light Rain, Light Rain and Drizzle, Recent DrizzleRADZ, RERA, -RA, -RADZ, REDZ
Mon, Jan 22 Recent Rain, Light RainRERA, -RA
Tue, Jan 23 Rain, Recent Rain, Light Rain, Recent DrizzleRA, RERA, -RA, REDZ
Thu, Jan 25 Drizzle and Rain, Light Rain, Light DrizzleDZRA, -RA, -DZ
Fri, Jan 26 Recent Rain, Light Rain, Light Rain and DrizzleRERA, -RA, -RADZ
Sun, Jan 28 Light Rain-RA
Tue, Jan 30 Light Rain-RA
Wed, Jan 31 Light Rain-RA
Thu, Feb 1 Light Rain-RA
Sat, Feb 3 Light Rain-RA
Sun, Feb 4 Light Rain, Light Rain and Drizzle-RA, -RADZ
Mon, Feb 5 Light Rain-RA
Tue, Feb 6 Rain and Drizzle, Recent Rain, Light Rain, Recent DrizzleRADZ, RERA, -RA, REDZ
Wed, Feb 7 Rain and Drizzle, Recent Rain, Light Rain, Light Drizzle, Recent DrizzleRADZ, RERA, -RA, -DZ, REDZ
Thu, Feb 8 Rain, Rain and Drizzle, Recent Rain, Light Rain, Light Rain and Drizzle, Drizzle, Light Drizzle, Recent Drizzle, MistRA, RADZ, RERA, -RA, -RADZ, DZ, -DZ, REDZ, BR
Fri, Feb 9 Rain, Recent Rain, Light Rain, Light Drizzle, Recent DrizzleRA, RERA, -RA, -DZ, REDZ
Sat, Feb 10 Recent Rain, Light Rain, Recent Drizzle, MistRERA, -RA, REDZ, BR
Sun, Feb 11 Recent Rain, Light RainRERA, -RA
Tue, Feb 13 Rain and Drizzle, Recent Rain, Light Rain, Recent DrizzleRADZ, RERA, -RA, REDZ
Wed, Feb 14 Recent Rain, Light Rain, Light Rain and Drizzle, Recent DrizzleRERA, -RA, -RADZ, REDZ
Thu, Feb 15 Light Rain-RA
Fri, Feb 16 Rain and Drizzle, Recent Rain, Light RainRADZ, RERA, -RA
Sat, Feb 17 Rain and Drizzle, Recent Rain, Light Rain, Light Drizzle, Recent DrizzleRADZ, RERA, -RA, -DZ, REDZ
Sun, Feb 18 Light Rain-RA
Mon, Feb 19 Light Rain, Mist-RA, BR
Tue, Feb 20 Light Rain-RA
Wed, Feb 21 Light Rain-RA
Thu, Feb 22 Rain, Recent Rain, Light Rain, Recent DrizzleRA, RERA, -RA, REDZ
Fri, Feb 23 Recent Showers of Rain, Showers of Rain, Light Rain, Showers of Light RainRESHRA, SHRA, -RA, -SHRA
Sat, Feb 24 Light Rain, Haze, Mist-RA, HZ, BR
Sun, Feb 25 Light Rain, Fog, Freezing Fog, Mist-RA, FG, FZFG, BR
Mon, Feb 26 Light Rain-RA
Wed, Feb 28 Light Rain-RA
Thu, Feb 29 Heavy Rain, Heavy Rain and Drizzle, Rain, Recent Rain, Light Rain, Light Rain and Drizzle, Recent Drizzle+RA, +RADZ, RA, RERA, -RA, -RADZ, REDZ

Hours of Daylight and Twilight in the Winter of 2023 in London

Hours of Daylight and Twilight in the Winter of 2023 in LondonDecJanFeb0 hr24 hr4 hr20 hr8 hr16 hr12 hr12 hr16 hr8 hr20 hr4 hr24 hr0 hrFallSpringDec 227 hr, 50 minDec 227 hr, 50 minnightnightdaydayFeb 2910 hr, 53 minFeb 2910 hr, 53 min
The number of hours during which the Sun is visible (black line). From bottom (most yellow) to top (most gray), the color bands indicate: full daylight, twilight (civil, nautical, and astronomical), and full night.

Sunrise & Sunset with Twilight and Daylight Saving Time in the Winter of 2023 in London

Sunrise & Sunset with Twilight and Daylight Saving Time in the Winter of 2023 in LondonDecJanFeb12 AM12 AM2 AM2 AM4 AM4 AM6 AM6 AM8 AM8 AM10 AM10 AM12 PM12 PM2 PM2 PM4 PM4 PM6 PM6 PM8 PM8 PM10 PM10 PM12 AM12 AMFallSpring6:46 AM6:46 AMFeb 295:39 PMFeb 295:39 PM7:57 AM7:57 AMDec 133:51 PMDec 133:51 PM8:06 AM8:06 AMDec 303:59 PMDec 303:59 PM
The solar day over the course of the Winter of 2023. From bottom to top, the black lines are the previous solar midnight, sunrise, solar noon, sunset, and the next solar midnight. The day, twilights (civil, nautical, and astronomical), and night are indicated by the color bands from yellow to gray.

Solar Elevation and Azimuth in the Winter of 2023 in London

Solar Elevation and Azimuth in the Winter of 2023 in LondonDecJanFeb12 AM12 AM2 AM2 AM4 AM4 AM6 AM6 AM8 AM8 AM10 AM10 AM12 PM12 PM2 PM2 PM4 PM4 PM6 PM6 PM8 PM8 PM10 PM10 PM12 AM12 AMFallSpring001001010
northeastsouthwest
Solar elevation and azimuth in the the winter of 2023. The black lines are lines of constant solar elevation (the angle of the sun above the horizon, in degrees). The background color fills indicate the azimuth (the compass bearing) of the sun. The lightly tinted areas at the boundaries of the cardinal compass points indicate the implied intermediate directions (northeast, southeast, southwest, and northwest).

Moon Rise, Set & Phases in the Winter of 2023 in London

Moon Rise, Set & Phases in the Winter of 2023 in LondonDecJanFeb12 AM12 AM4 AM4 AM8 AM8 AM12 PM12 PM4 PM4 PM8 PM8 PM12 AM12 AMFallSpringNov 139:28 AMNov 139:28 AMNov 279:17 AMNov 279:17 AMDec 1211:33 PMDec 1211:33 PMDec 2712:34 AMDec 2712:34 AMJan 1111:58 AMJan 1111:58 AMJan 255:55 PMJan 255:55 PMFeb 911:00 PMFeb 911:00 PMFeb 2412:31 PMFeb 2412:31 PMMar 109:01 AMMar 109:01 AMMar 257:01 AMMar 257:01 AM7:25 AM7:25 AM8:00 AM8:00 AM2:55 PM2:55 PM9:08 AM9:08 AM8:43 AM8:43 AM3:46 PM3:46 PM7:46 AM7:46 AM4:14 PM4:14 PM5:27 PM5:27 PM7:33 AM7:33 AM5:36 PM5:36 PM6:01 AM6:01 AM
The time in which the moon is above the horizon (light blue area), with new moons (dark gray lines) and full moons (blue lines) indicated. The shaded overlays indicate night and civil twilight.

Humidity Comfort Levels in the Winter of 2023 in London

Humidity Comfort Levels in the Winter of 2023 in LondonDecJanFeb12 AM12 AM3 AM3 AM6 AM6 AM9 AM9 AM12 PM12 PM3 PM3 PM6 PM6 PM9 PM9 PM12 AM12 AMFallSpring
dry 55°F comfortable 60°F humid 65°F muggy 70°F oppressive 75°F miserable
The hourly reported humidity comfort level, categorized by dew point. The shaded overlays indicate night and civil twilight.

Wind Speed in the Winter of 2023 in London

Wind Speed in the Winter of 2023 in LondonDecJanFeb0 mph0 mph10 mph10 mph20 mph20 mph30 mph30 mph40 mph40 mph50 mph50 mph60 mph60 mphFallSpring
The daily range of reported wind speeds (gray bars), with maximum gust speeds (red ticks).

Hourly Wind Speed in the Winter of 2023 in London

Hourly Wind Speed in the Winter of 2023 in LondonDecJanFeb12 AM12 AM3 AM3 AM6 AM6 AM9 AM9 AM12 PM12 PM3 PM3 PM6 PM6 PM9 PM9 PM12 AM12 AMFallSpring
0 mph calm 1 mph light air 4 mph light breeze 8 mph gentle breeze 13 mph moderate breeze 18 mph fresh breeze 25 mph strong breeze 31 mph near gale 39 mph gale 47 mph strong gale 55 mph storm 64 mph violent storm 73 mph hurricane force
The hourly reported wind speed, color coded into bands according to the Beaufort scale. The shaded overlays indicate night and civil twilight.

Hourly Wind Direction in 2023 in London

Hourly Wind Direction in 2023 in LondonDecJanFeb12 AM12 AM3 AM3 AM6 AM6 AM9 AM9 AM12 PM12 PM3 PM3 PM6 PM6 PM9 PM9 PM12 AM12 AMFallSpring
calmnortheastsouthwest
The hourly reported wind direction, color coded by compass point. The shaded overlays indicate night and civil twilight.

Atmospheric Pressure in the Winter of 2023 in London

Atmospheric Pressure in the Winter of 2023 in LondonDecJanFeb28.0 inHg28.0 inHg28.5 inHg28.5 inHg29.0 inHg29.0 inHg29.5 inHg29.5 inHg30.0 inHg30.0 inHg30.5 inHg30.5 inHg31.0 inHg31.0 inHgFallSpring
The daily range of atmospheric pressure (gray bars), as measured by the altimeter setting reported in e.g. a METAR report.

The details of the data sources used for this report can be found on the London Heathrow Airport page.

See all nearby weather stations

Disclaimer

The information on this site is provided as is, without any assurances as to its accuracy or suitability for any purpose. Weather data is prone to errors, outages, and other defects. We assume no responsibility for any decisions made on the basis of the content presented on this site.

We draw particular cautious attention to our reliance on the MERRA-2 model-based reconstructions for a number of important data series. While having the tremendous advantages of temporal and spatial completeness, these reconstructions: (1) are based on computer models that may have model-based errors, (2) are coarsely sampled on a 50 km grid and are therefore unable to reconstruct the local variations of many microclimates, and (3) have particular difficulty with the weather in some coastal areas, especially small islands.

We further caution that our travel scores are only as good as the data that underpin them, that weather conditions at any given location and time are unpredictable and variable, and that the definition of the scores reflects a particular set of preferences that may not agree with those of any particular reader.

Please review our full terms contained on our Terms of Service page.