Winter 2017 Weather History in London United Kingdom

The data for this report comes from the London Heathrow Airport. See all nearby weather stations

This report shows the past weather for London, providing a weather history for the winter of 2017. It features all historical weather data series we have available, including the London temperature history for the winter of 2017. You can drill down from year to month and even day level reports by clicking on the graphs.

London Temperature History in the Winter of 2017

Temperature history in the Winter of 2017 in LondonDecJanFeb20°F20°F25°F25°F30°F30°F35°F35°F40°F40°F45°F45°F50°F50°F55°F55°F60°F60°F65°F65°FFallSpring
The daily range of reported temperatures (gray bars) and 24-hour highs (red ticks) and lows (blue ticks), placed over the daily average high (faint red line) and low (faint blue line) temperature, with 25th to 75th and 10th to 90th percentile bands.

Hourly Temperature in the Winter of 2017 in London

Hourly Temperature in the Winter of 2017 in LondonDecJanFeb12 AM12 AM3 AM3 AM6 AM6 AM9 AM9 AM12 PM12 PM3 PM3 PM6 PM6 PM9 PM9 PM12 AM12 AMFallSpringvery coldcold
frigid 15°F freezing 32°F very cold 45°F cold 55°F cool 65°F comfortable 75°F warm 85°F hot 95°F sweltering
The hourly reported temperature, color coded into bands. The shaded overlays indicate night and civil twilight.
Map
Marker
© OpenStreetMap contributors

Compare London to another city:

Map

Cloud Cover in the Winter of 2017 in London

Cloud Cover in the Winter of 2017 in LondonDecJanFeb12 AM12 AM3 AM3 AM6 AM6 AM9 AM9 AM12 PM12 PM3 PM3 PM6 PM6 PM9 PM9 PM12 AM12 AMFallSpring
0% clear 20% mostly clear 40% partly cloudy 60% mostly cloudy 80% overcast 100%
no significant cloudno cloud detectedceiling and visibility ok
The hourly reported cloud coverage, categorized by the percentage of the sky covered by clouds.

Observed Weather in the Winter of 2017 in London

Observed Weather in the Winter of 2017 in LondonDecJanFeb12 AM12 AM3 AM3 AM6 AM6 AM9 AM9 AM12 PM12 PM3 PM3 PM6 PM6 PM9 PM9 PM12 AM12 AMFallSpring
foghazedrizzlelight rainmoderate rainheavy rainfreezing rainsleetsnow grainslight snowmoderate snowheavy snowhailthunderstorm
The hourly observed weather, color coded by category (in order of severity). If multiple reports are present, the most severe code is shown.
DayObservationsPrecipitationCodes
Fri, Dec 1 Light Rain-RA
Sat, Dec 2 Rain and Drizzle, Recent Rain, Light Rain, Light Rain and Drizzle, Recent Drizzle, Haze, MistRADZ, RERA, -RA, -RADZ, REDZ, HZ, BR
Sun, Dec 3 Recent Rain, Light Rain, Light Rain and Drizzle, Recent Drizzle, Haze, MistRERA, -RA, -RADZ, REDZ, HZ, BR
Mon, Dec 4 Light Rain-RA
Wed, Dec 6 Light Rain-RA
Thu, Dec 7 Recent Rain, Light Rain, Light Rain and Drizzle, Light Drizzle, Recent Drizzle, HazeRERA, -RA, -RADZ, -DZ, REDZ, HZ
Sun, Dec 10 Recent Snow, Snow, Light Snow, Light Rain and Snow, Rain and Snow, Rain, Recent Rain, Light Rain, Light Drizzle, Recent Drizzle, Haze, MistRESN, SN, -SN, -RASN, RASN, RA, RERA, -RA, -DZ, REDZ, HZ, BR
Mon, Dec 11 Recent Snow, Recent Rain, Light Rain, MistRESN, RERA, -RA, BR
Tue, Dec 12 Light Rain-RA
Wed, Dec 13 Heavy Rain, Rain, Recent Rain, Light Rain, Light Drizzle+RA, RA, RERA, -RA, -DZ
Fri, Dec 15 Light Rain-RA
Sat, Dec 16 Light Rain-RA
Sun, Dec 17 Rain and Drizzle, Recent Rain, Light Rain, Light Rain and Drizzle, Haze, Fog, MistRADZ, RERA, -RA, -RADZ, HZ, FG, BR
Mon, Dec 18 Haze, MistHZ, BR
Tue, Dec 19 Light Rain, Recent Drizzle, Haze, Fog, Freezing Fog, Mist, Patches of Fog-RA, REDZ, HZ, FG, FZFG, BR, BCFG
Wed, Dec 20 Haze, Fog, MistHZ, FG, BR
Thu, Dec 21 Recent Rain, Light Rain and Drizzle, Light Drizzle, Recent Drizzle, HazeRERA, -RADZ, -DZ, REDZ, HZ
Fri, Dec 22 Light Rain, Light Rain and Drizzle, Light Drizzle, Haze-RA, -RADZ, -DZ, HZ
Sat, Dec 23 HazeHZ
Mon, Dec 25 Heavy Rain, Rain, Recent Rain, Light Rain+RA, RA, RERA, -RA
Tue, Dec 26 Recent Rain, Light Rain, Light Rain and Drizzle, Recent DrizzleRERA, -RA, -RADZ, REDZ
Wed, Dec 27 Recent Snow, Light Rain and Snow, Rain and Snow, Light Rain, Light Rain and DrizzleRESN, -RASN, RASN, -RA, -RADZ
Fri, Dec 29 Rain, Recent Rain, Light Rain, Showers of Light Rain, Recent DrizzleRA, RERA, -RA, -SHRA, REDZ
Sat, Dec 30 Rain, Recent Rain, Light Rain, Light Rain and Drizzle, Light Drizzle, Recent DrizzleRA, RERA, -RA, -RADZ, -DZ, REDZ
Sun, Dec 31 Recent Rain, Light Rain, Light Rain and DrizzleRERA, -RA, -RADZ
Mon, Jan 1 Light Rain-RA
Tue, Jan 2 Heavy Rain, Rain, Recent Rain, Light Rain, Light Rain and Drizzle, Light Drizzle+RA, RA, RERA, -RA, -RADZ, -DZ
Wed, Jan 3 Light Rain-RA
Thu, Jan 4 Rain, Recent Rain, Light Rain, Light Rain and Drizzle, Drizzle, Recent DrizzleRA, RERA, -RA, -RADZ, DZ, REDZ
Fri, Jan 5 Light Rain-RA
Sat, Jan 6 Light Rain, Haze, Mist-RA, HZ, BR
Tue, Jan 9 Recent Rain, Light Rain, Light Rain and Drizzle, Recent Drizzle, HazeRERA, -RA, -RADZ, REDZ, HZ
Wed, Jan 10 Recent Rain, Light Rain and Drizzle, Light Drizzle, Recent Drizzle, HazeRERA, -RADZ, -DZ, REDZ, HZ
Thu, Jan 11 Light Rain, Light Rain and Drizzle, Haze, Mist-RA, -RADZ, HZ, BR
Fri, Jan 12 Light Rain, Haze-RA, HZ
Mon, Jan 15 Light Rain-RA
Tue, Jan 16 Light Rain-RA
Wed, Jan 17 Light Rain-RA
Thu, Jan 18 Light Rain, Showers in the Vicinity-RA, VCSH
Sat, Jan 20 Recent Rain, Light Rain, Light Rain and Drizzle, Recent Drizzle, HazeRERA, -RA, -RADZ, REDZ, HZ
Sun, Jan 21 Light Rain and Snow, Rain, Recent Rain, Light Rain, Light Rain and Drizzle, Recent Drizzle, Haze, Mist-RASN, RA, RERA, -RA, -RADZ, REDZ, HZ, BR
Tue, Jan 23 Light Rain-RA
Wed, Jan 24 Heavy Rain, Rain, Recent Rain, Light Rain, Light Drizzle+RA, RA, RERA, -RA, -DZ
Thu, Jan 25 Light Rain-RA
Fri, Jan 26 Fog, MistFG, BR
Sat, Jan 27 Light Rain, Haze-RA, HZ
Mon, Jan 29 Rain, Recent Rain, Light RainRA, RERA, -RA
Tue, Jan 30 Light Rain, Light Rain and Drizzle, Light Drizzle, Fog in the Vicinity, Mist-RA, -RADZ, -DZ, VCFG, BR
Wed, Jan 31 Rain, Recent Rain, Showers of Rain, Light Rain, Recent DrizzleRA, RERA, SHRA, -RA, REDZ
Thu, Feb 1 Light Rain-RA
Sat, Feb 3 Light Rain-RA
Sun, Feb 4 Light Rain-RA
Mon, Feb 5 Light Rain-RA
Tue, Feb 6 Light Snow, Light Rain and Snow-SN, -RASN
Wed, Feb 7 Light Snow, Light Rain and Snow-SN, -RASN
Thu, Feb 8 Light Rain-RA
Fri, Feb 9 Recent Rain, Light Rain, Light Rain and Drizzle, Recent DrizzleRERA, -RA, -RADZ, REDZ
Sat, Feb 10 Light Rain, Light Rain and Drizzle, Light Drizzle-RA, -RADZ, -DZ
Sun, Feb 11 Light Rain-RA
Mon, Feb 12 Light Rain-RA
Tue, Feb 13 Rain, Recent Rain, Light Rain, Light Rain and DrizzleRA, RERA, -RA, -RADZ
Wed, Feb 14 Light Rain, Light Rain and Drizzle-RA, -RADZ
Thu, Feb 15 Light Rain, Light Drizzle, Mist-RA, -DZ, BR
Sun, Feb 18 Recent Rain, Haze, Fog in the Vicinity, MistRERA, HZ, VCFG, BR
Mon, Feb 19 Rain and Drizzle, Recent Rain, Light Rain, Light Rain and Drizzle, Drizzle, Light Drizzle, Recent Drizzle, Haze, MistRADZ, RERA, -RA, -RADZ, DZ, -DZ, REDZ, HZ, BR
Tue, Feb 20 Rain, Recent Rain, Light Rain, Light Rain and Drizzle, Light Drizzle, Recent Drizzle, MistRA, RERA, -RA, -RADZ, -DZ, REDZ, BR
Wed, Feb 21 Light Rain, Haze-RA, HZ
Thu, Feb 22 Light Rain-RA
Mon, Feb 26 Recent Showers of Snow, Light Snow, Showers of Light Snow, Recent Snow Grains, Light Rain and Snow, Recent Rain, Light RainRESHSN, -SN, -SHSN, RESG, -RASN, RERA, -RA
Tue, Feb 27 Recent Showers of Snow, Light Snow, Showers of Light Snow, Recent Snow Grains, Recent Rain, Light Rain, Showers in the VicinityRESHSN, -SN, -SHSN, RESG, RERA, -RA, VCSH
Wed, Feb 28 Heavy Snow, Recent Showers of Snow, Recent Snow, Showers of Snow, Light Snow, Showers of Light Snow, Recent Snow Grains, Snow Grains, Recent Rain+SN, RESHSN, RESN, SHSN, -SN, -SHSN, RESG, SG, RERA

Hours of Daylight and Twilight in the Winter of 2017 in London

Hours of Daylight and Twilight in the Winter of 2017 in LondonDecJanFeb0 hr24 hr4 hr20 hr8 hr16 hr12 hr12 hr16 hr8 hr20 hr4 hr24 hr0 hrFallSpringDec 217 hr, 50 minDec 217 hr, 50 minnightnightdaydayFeb 2810 hr, 51 minFeb 2810 hr, 51 min
The number of hours during which the Sun is visible (black line). From bottom (most yellow) to top (most gray), the color bands indicate: full daylight, twilight (civil, nautical, and astronomical), and full night.

Sunrise & Sunset with Twilight and Daylight Saving Time in the Winter of 2017 in London

Sunrise & Sunset with Twilight and Daylight Saving Time in the Winter of 2017 in LondonDecJanFeb12 AM12 AM2 AM2 AM4 AM4 AM6 AM6 AM8 AM8 AM10 AM10 AM12 PM12 PM2 PM2 PM4 PM4 PM6 PM6 PM8 PM8 PM10 PM10 PM12 AM12 AMFallSpring6:48 AM6:48 AMFeb 285:38 PMFeb 285:38 PM7:57 AM7:57 AMDec 123:51 PMDec 123:51 PM8:06 AM8:06 AMDec 304:00 PMDec 304:00 PM
The solar day over the course of the Winter of 2017. From bottom to top, the black lines are the previous solar midnight, sunrise, solar noon, sunset, and the next solar midnight. The day, twilights (civil, nautical, and astronomical), and night are indicated by the color bands from yellow to gray.

Solar Elevation and Azimuth in the Winter of 2017 in London

Solar Elevation and Azimuth in the Winter of 2017 in LondonDecJanFeb12 AM12 AM2 AM2 AM4 AM4 AM6 AM6 AM8 AM8 AM10 AM10 AM12 PM12 PM2 PM2 PM4 PM4 PM6 PM6 PM8 PM8 PM10 PM10 PM12 AM12 AMFallSpring001001010
northeastsouthwest
Solar elevation and azimuth in the the winter of 2017. The black lines are lines of constant solar elevation (the angle of the sun above the horizon, in degrees). The background color fills indicate the azimuth (the compass bearing) of the sun. The lightly tinted areas at the boundaries of the cardinal compass points indicate the implied intermediate directions (northeast, southeast, southwest, and northwest).

Moon Rise, Set & Phases in the Winter of 2017 in London

Moon Rise, Set & Phases in the Winter of 2017 in LondonDecJanFeb12 AM12 AM4 AM4 AM8 AM8 AM12 PM12 PM4 PM4 PM8 PM8 PM12 AM12 AMFallSpringNov 45:24 AMNov 45:24 AMNov 1811:43 AMNov 1811:43 AMDec 33:48 PMDec 33:48 PMDec 186:31 AMDec 186:31 AMJan 22:25 AMJan 22:25 AMJan 172:18 AMJan 172:18 AMJan 311:27 PMJan 311:27 PMFeb 159:06 PMFeb 159:06 PMMar 212:52 AMMar 212:52 AMMar 171:12 PMMar 171:12 PM4:39 PM4:39 PM6:49 AM6:49 AM4:19 PM4:19 PM8:17 AM8:17 AM7:46 AM7:46 AM4:28 PM4:28 PM3:47 PM3:47 PM8:06 AM8:06 AM8:01 AM8:01 AM4:59 PM4:59 PM4:53 PM4:53 PM8:13 AM8:13 AM4:54 PM4:54 PM5:03 PM5:03 PM7:12 AM7:12 AM6:30 AM6:30 AM6:05 PM6:05 PM
The time in which the moon is above the horizon (light blue area), with new moons (dark gray lines) and full moons (blue lines) indicated. The shaded overlays indicate night and civil twilight.

Humidity Comfort Levels in the Winter of 2017 in London

Humidity Comfort Levels in the Winter of 2017 in LondonDecJanFeb12 AM12 AM3 AM3 AM6 AM6 AM9 AM9 AM12 PM12 PM3 PM3 PM6 PM6 PM9 PM9 PM12 AM12 AMFallSpring
dry 55°F comfortable 60°F humid 65°F muggy 70°F oppressive 75°F miserable
The hourly reported humidity comfort level, categorized by dew point. The shaded overlays indicate night and civil twilight.

Wind Speed in the Winter of 2017 in London

Wind Speed in the Winter of 2017 in LondonDecJanFeb0 mph0 mph10 mph10 mph20 mph20 mph30 mph30 mph40 mph40 mph50 mph50 mph60 mph60 mph70 mph70 mphFallSpring
The daily range of reported wind speeds (gray bars), with maximum gust speeds (red ticks).

Hourly Wind Speed in the Winter of 2017 in London

Hourly Wind Speed in the Winter of 2017 in LondonDecJanFeb12 AM12 AM3 AM3 AM6 AM6 AM9 AM9 AM12 PM12 PM3 PM3 PM6 PM6 PM9 PM9 PM12 AM12 AMFallSpring
0 mph calm 1 mph light air 4 mph light breeze 8 mph gentle breeze 13 mph moderate breeze 18 mph fresh breeze 25 mph strong breeze 31 mph near gale 39 mph gale 47 mph strong gale 55 mph storm 64 mph violent storm 73 mph hurricane force
The hourly reported wind speed, color coded into bands according to the Beaufort scale. The shaded overlays indicate night and civil twilight.

Hourly Wind Direction in 2017 in London

Hourly Wind Direction in 2017 in LondonDecJanFeb12 AM12 AM3 AM3 AM6 AM6 AM9 AM9 AM12 PM12 PM3 PM3 PM6 PM6 PM9 PM9 PM12 AM12 AMFallSpring
calmnortheastsouthwest
The hourly reported wind direction, color coded by compass point. The shaded overlays indicate night and civil twilight.

Atmospheric Pressure in the Winter of 2017 in London

Atmospheric Pressure in the Winter of 2017 in LondonDecJanFeb28.5 inHg28.5 inHg29.0 inHg29.0 inHg29.5 inHg29.5 inHg30.0 inHg30.0 inHg30.5 inHg30.5 inHgFallSpring
The daily range of atmospheric pressure (gray bars), as measured by the altimeter setting reported in e.g. a METAR report.

The details of the data sources used for this report can be found on the London Heathrow Airport page.

See all nearby weather stations

Disclaimer

The information on this site is provided as is, without any assurances as to its accuracy or suitability for any purpose. Weather data is prone to errors, outages, and other defects. We assume no responsibility for any decisions made on the basis of the content presented on this site.

We draw particular cautious attention to our reliance on the MERRA-2 model-based reconstructions for a number of important data series. While having the tremendous advantages of temporal and spatial completeness, these reconstructions: (1) are based on computer models that may have model-based errors, (2) are coarsely sampled on a 50 km grid and are therefore unable to reconstruct the local variations of many microclimates, and (3) have particular difficulty with the weather in some coastal areas, especially small islands.

We further caution that our travel scores are only as good as the data that underpin them, that weather conditions at any given location and time are unpredictable and variable, and that the definition of the scores reflects a particular set of preferences that may not agree with those of any particular reader.

Please review our full terms contained on our Terms of Service page.