Fall 2023 Weather History in Christchurch New Zealand

The data for this report comes from the Christchurch International Airport. See all nearby weather stations

This report shows the past weather for Christchurch, providing a weather history for the fall of 2023. It features all historical weather data series we have available, including the Christchurch temperature history for the fall of 2023. You can drill down from year to month and even day level reports by clicking on the graphs.

Christchurch Temperature History in the Fall of 2023

Temperature history in the Fall of 2023 in ChristchurchMarAprMay20°F20°F30°F30°F40°F40°F50°F50°F60°F60°F70°F70°F80°F80°F90°F90°FSummerWinter
The daily range of reported temperatures (gray bars) and 24-hour highs (red ticks) and lows (blue ticks), placed over the daily average high (faint red line) and low (faint blue line) temperature, with 25th to 75th and 10th to 90th percentile bands.

Hourly Temperature in the Fall of 2023 in Christchurch

Hourly Temperature in the Fall of 2023 in ChristchurchMarAprMay12 AM12 AM3 AM3 AM6 AM6 AM9 AM9 AM12 PM12 PM3 PM3 PM6 PM6 PM9 PM9 PM12 AM12 AMSummerWintercoldcool
frigid 15°F freezing 32°F very cold 45°F cold 55°F cool 65°F comfortable 75°F warm 85°F hot 95°F sweltering
The hourly reported temperature, color coded into bands. The shaded overlays indicate night and civil twilight.
Map
Marker
© OpenStreetMap contributors

Compare Christchurch to another city:

Map

Cloud Cover in the Fall of 2023 in Christchurch

Cloud Cover in the Fall of 2023 in ChristchurchMarAprMay12 AM12 AM3 AM3 AM6 AM6 AM9 AM9 AM12 PM12 PM3 PM3 PM6 PM6 PM9 PM9 PM12 AM12 AMSummerWinter
0% clear 20% mostly clear 40% partly cloudy 60% mostly cloudy 80% overcast 100%
no significant cloudno cloud detectedceiling and visibility ok
The hourly reported cloud coverage, categorized by the percentage of the sky covered by clouds.

Observed Weather in the Fall of 2023 in Christchurch

Observed Weather in the Fall of 2023 in ChristchurchMarAprMay12 AM12 AM3 AM3 AM6 AM6 AM9 AM9 AM12 PM12 PM3 PM3 PM6 PM6 PM9 PM9 PM12 AM12 AMSummerWinter
foghazedrizzlelight rainmoderate rainheavy rainfreezing rainsleetsnow grainslight snowmoderate snowheavy snowhailthunderstorm
The hourly observed weather, color coded by category (in order of severity). If multiple reports are present, the most severe code is shown.
DayObservationsPrecipitationCodes
Fri, Mar 3 Light Rain, Fog, Mist-RA, FG, BR
Sat, Mar 4 Recent Rain, Light Rain, MistRERA, -RA, BR
Sun, Mar 5 Rain, Recent Rain, Light Rain, MistRA, RERA, -RA, BR
Mon, Mar 6 Light Rain, Fog-RA, FG
Wed, Mar 8 Light Rain-RA
Thu, Mar 9 Light Rain, Light Drizzle-RA, -DZ
Sat, Mar 11 Fog, MistFG, BR
Sun, Mar 12 Haze, Fog, Patches of FogHZ, FG, BCFG
Mon, Mar 13 Rain, Recent Rain, Light Rain, HazeRA, RERA, -RA, HZ
Thu, Mar 16 Fog, MistFG, BR
Fri, Mar 17 Rain, Light RainRA, -RA
Sat, Mar 18 Light Rain-RA
Mon, Mar 20 Light Rain, Fog, Mist, Patches of Fog-RA, FG, BR, BCFG
Tue, Mar 21 Rain, Recent Rain, Light Rain, Light Drizzle, HazeRA, RERA, -RA, -DZ, HZ
Wed, Mar 22 Rain, Recent Rain, Light RainRA, RERA, -RA
Sat, Mar 25 Light Rain, Fog, Patches of Fog-RA, FG, BCFG
Mon, Mar 27 Light Rain, Fog, Mist, Patches of Fog-RA, FG, BR, BCFG
Tue, Mar 28 Rain, Recent Rain, Light Rain, Haze, MistRA, RERA, -RA, HZ, BR
Wed, Mar 29 Rain, Recent Rain, Light RainRA, RERA, -RA
Sat, Apr 1 Light Rain-RA
Sun, Apr 2 Rain, Recent Rain, Light RainRA, RERA, -RA
Mon, Apr 3 Light Rain-RA
Thu, Apr 6 Rain, Light Rain, Light Drizzle, Haze, MistRA, -RA, -DZ, HZ, BR
Sun, Apr 9 Light Rain-RA
Mon, Apr 10 Light Rain-RA
Thu, Apr 13 Light Rain, Recent Drizzle, Mist-RA, REDZ, BR
Fri, Apr 14 Rain, Light Rain, Drizzle, Heavy Drizzle, Recent Drizzle, Haze, MistRA, -RA, DZ, +DZ, REDZ, HZ, BR
Sat, Apr 15 Light Rain, Recent Drizzle-RA, REDZ
Mon, Apr 17 Fog, MistFG, BR
Tue, Apr 18 Rain, Recent Rain, Light Rain, Haze, MistRA, RERA, -RA, HZ, BR
Wed, Apr 19 Rain, Light Rain, Light Drizzle, MistRA, -RA, -DZ, BR
Thu, Apr 20 Fog, MistFG, BR
Fri, Apr 21 Rain, Light Rain, MistRA, -RA, BR
Sat, Apr 22 Light Rain, Mist-RA, BR
Sun, Apr 23 Light Rain, Fog, Mist, Patches of Fog-RA, FG, BR, BCFG
Mon, Apr 24 Recent Thunderstorm, Thunderstorm in the Vicinity, Rain, Recent Rain, Light RainRETS, VCTS, RA, RERA, -RA
Wed, Apr 26 Light Rain, Recent Drizzle-RA, REDZ
Thu, Apr 27 Light Rain, Mist, Patches of Fog-RA, BR, BCFG
Fri, Apr 28 FogFG
Sun, Apr 30 Fog, Mist, Patches of FogFG, BR, BCFG
Mon, May 1 Light Rain, Fog, Mist, Patches of Fog-RA, FG, BR, BCFG
Tue, May 2 Light Rain, Light Drizzle, Fog, Mist, Patches of Fog-RA, -DZ, FG, BR, BCFG
Thu, May 4 Haze, Patches of FogHZ, BCFG
Fri, May 5 Light Rain, Fog, Mist-RA, FG, BR
Sun, May 7 Light Rain, Mist, Patches of Fog-RA, BR, BCFG
Mon, May 8 Fog, MistFG, BR
Tue, May 9 Rain, Recent Rain, Light Rain, HazeRA, RERA, -RA, HZ
Wed, May 10 Light Rain, Drizzle, Light Drizzle, Mist-RA, DZ, -DZ, BR
Thu, May 11 Rain, Recent Rain, Light RainRA, RERA, -RA
Fri, May 12 Light Rain, Mist, Patches of Fog-RA, BR, BCFG
Sat, May 13 Light Rain, Fog, Patches of Fog-RA, FG, BCFG
Sun, May 14 Light Rain, Fog, Patches of Fog-RA, FG, BCFG
Mon, May 15 Rain, Recent Rain, Light Rain, Haze, Fog, Mist, Patches of FogRA, RERA, -RA, HZ, FG, BR, BCFG
Tue, May 16 Light Rain, Fog, Freezing Fog, Patches of Fog-RA, FG, FZFG, BCFG
Wed, May 17 Mist, Patches of FogBR, BCFG
Thu, May 18 Light Rain-RA
Fri, May 19 Light Rain, Light Drizzle, Mist-RA, -DZ, BR
Sat, May 20 Light Rain, Drizzle, Light Drizzle, Mist-RA, DZ, -DZ, BR
Sun, May 21 Light Rain, Light Drizzle, Recent Drizzle, Mist-RA, -DZ, REDZ, BR
Mon, May 22 Light Rain, Fog, Mist, Patches of Fog-RA, FG, BR, BCFG
Tue, May 23 Light Rain, Haze, Fog, Mist, Patches of Fog-RA, HZ, FG, BR, BCFG
Wed, May 24 Light Rain-RA
Thu, May 25 Light Rain, Light Drizzle, Fog, Mist, Patches of Fog-RA, -DZ, FG, BR, BCFG
Fri, May 26 Light Rain, Fog, Patches of Fog-RA, FG, BCFG

Hours of Daylight and Twilight in the Fall of 2023 in Christchurch

Hours of Daylight and Twilight in the Fall of 2023 in ChristchurchMarAprMay0 hr24 hr4 hr20 hr8 hr16 hr12 hr12 hr16 hr8 hr20 hr4 hr24 hr0 hrSummerWinterMar 2112 hr, 12 minMar 2112 hr, 12 mindaydaydaydaynightMay 319 hr, 12 minMay 319 hr, 12 min
The number of hours during which the Sun is visible (black line). From bottom (most yellow) to top (most gray), the color bands indicate: full daylight, twilight (civil, nautical, and astronomical), and full night.

Sunrise & Sunset with Twilight and Daylight Saving Time in the Fall of 2023 in Christchurch

Sunrise & Sunset with Twilight and Daylight Saving Time in the Fall of 2023 in ChristchurchMarAprMay2 AM2 AM4 AM4 AM6 AM6 AM8 AM8 AM10 AM10 AM12 PM12 PM2 PM2 PM4 PM4 PM6 PM6 PM8 PM8 PM10 PM10 PM12 AM12 AMSummerWinter6:46 AM6:46 AMApr 26:19 PMApr 26:19 PM7:07 AM7:07 AMMar 18:15 PMMar 18:15 PM7:51 AM7:51 AMMay 315:02 PMMay 315:02 PMDSTApr 2DSTApr 2
The solar day over the course of the Fall of 2023. From bottom to top, the black lines are the previous solar midnight, sunrise, solar noon, sunset, and the next solar midnight. The day, twilights (civil, nautical, and astronomical), and night are indicated by the color bands from yellow to gray. The transitions to and from daylight saving time are indicated by the 'DST' labels.

Solar Elevation and Azimuth in the Fall of 2023 in Christchurch

Solar Elevation and Azimuth in the Fall of 2023 in ChristchurchMarAprMay12 AM12 AM2 AM2 AM4 AM4 AM6 AM6 AM8 AM8 AM10 AM10 AM12 PM12 PM2 PM2 PM4 PM4 PM6 PM6 PM8 PM8 PM10 PM10 PM12 AM12 AMSummerWinter002020300010103040
northeastsouthwest
Solar elevation and azimuth in the the fall of 2023. The black lines are lines of constant solar elevation (the angle of the sun above the horizon, in degrees). The background color fills indicate the azimuth (the compass bearing) of the sun. The lightly tinted areas at the boundaries of the cardinal compass points indicate the implied intermediate directions (northeast, southeast, southwest, and northwest).

Moon Rise, Set & Phases in the Fall of 2023 in Christchurch

Moon Rise, Set & Phases in the Fall of 2023 in ChristchurchMarAprMay12 AM12 AM4 AM4 AM8 AM8 AM12 PM12 PM4 PM4 PM8 PM8 PM12 AM12 AMSummerWinterFeb 67:29 AMFeb 67:29 AMFeb 208:06 PMFeb 208:06 PMMar 81:41 AMMar 81:41 AMMar 226:24 AMMar 226:24 AMApr 64:35 PMApr 64:35 PMApr 204:13 PMApr 204:13 PMMay 65:35 AMMay 65:35 AMMay 203:54 AMMay 203:54 AMJun 43:42 PMJun 43:42 PMJun 184:38 PMJun 184:38 PM9:01 PM9:01 PM6:23 AM6:23 AM8:15 PM8:15 PM7:27 AM7:27 AM7:36 AM7:36 AM8:02 PM8:02 PM6:17 PM6:17 PM7:33 AM7:33 AM5:47 PM5:47 PM5:03 PM5:03 PM7:39 AM7:39 AM8:05 AM8:05 AM5:11 PM5:11 PM4:38 PM4:38 PM4:31 PM4:31 PM
The time in which the moon is above the horizon (light blue area), with new moons (dark gray lines) and full moons (blue lines) indicated. The shaded overlays indicate night and civil twilight.

Humidity Comfort Levels in the Fall of 2023 in Christchurch

Humidity Comfort Levels in the Fall of 2023 in ChristchurchMarAprMay12 AM12 AM3 AM3 AM6 AM6 AM9 AM9 AM12 PM12 PM3 PM3 PM6 PM6 PM9 PM9 PM12 AM12 AMSummerWinter
dry 55°F comfortable 60°F humid 65°F muggy 70°F oppressive 75°F miserable
The hourly reported humidity comfort level, categorized by dew point. The shaded overlays indicate night and civil twilight.

Wind Speed in the Fall of 2023 in Christchurch

Wind Speed in the Fall of 2023 in ChristchurchMarAprMay0 mph0 mph10 mph10 mph20 mph20 mph30 mph30 mph40 mph40 mph50 mph50 mph60 mph60 mphSummerWinter
The daily range of reported wind speeds (gray bars), with maximum gust speeds (red ticks).

Hourly Wind Speed in the Fall of 2023 in Christchurch

Hourly Wind Speed in the Fall of 2023 in ChristchurchMarAprMay12 AM12 AM3 AM3 AM6 AM6 AM9 AM9 AM12 PM12 PM3 PM3 PM6 PM6 PM9 PM9 PM12 AM12 AMSummerWinter
0 mph calm 1 mph light air 4 mph light breeze 8 mph gentle breeze 13 mph moderate breeze 18 mph fresh breeze 25 mph strong breeze 31 mph near gale 39 mph gale 47 mph strong gale 55 mph storm 64 mph violent storm 73 mph hurricane force
The hourly reported wind speed, color coded into bands according to the Beaufort scale. The shaded overlays indicate night and civil twilight.

Hourly Wind Direction in 2023 in Christchurch

Hourly Wind Direction in 2023 in ChristchurchMarAprMay12 AM12 AM3 AM3 AM6 AM6 AM9 AM9 AM12 PM12 PM3 PM3 PM6 PM6 PM9 PM9 PM12 AM12 AMSummerWinter
calmnortheastsouthwest
The hourly reported wind direction, color coded by compass point. The shaded overlays indicate night and civil twilight.

Atmospheric Pressure in the Fall of 2023 in Christchurch

Atmospheric Pressure in the Fall of 2023 in ChristchurchMarAprMay29.0 inHg29.0 inHg29.5 inHg29.5 inHg30.0 inHg30.0 inHg30.5 inHg30.5 inHgSummerWinter
The daily range of atmospheric pressure (gray bars), as measured by the altimeter setting reported in e.g. a METAR report.

The details of the data sources used for this report can be found on the Christchurch International Airport page.

See all nearby weather stations

Disclaimer

The information on this site is provided as is, without any assurances as to its accuracy or suitability for any purpose. Weather data is prone to errors, outages, and other defects. We assume no responsibility for any decisions made on the basis of the content presented on this site.

We draw particular cautious attention to our reliance on the MERRA-2 model-based reconstructions for a number of important data series. While having the tremendous advantages of temporal and spatial completeness, these reconstructions: (1) are based on computer models that may have model-based errors, (2) are coarsely sampled on a 50 km grid and are therefore unable to reconstruct the local variations of many microclimates, and (3) have particular difficulty with the weather in some coastal areas, especially small islands.

We further caution that our travel scores are only as good as the data that underpin them, that weather conditions at any given location and time are unpredictable and variable, and that the definition of the scores reflects a particular set of preferences that may not agree with those of any particular reader.

Please review our full terms contained on our Terms of Service page.